Longer term low rent / exchange opportunity with WWOOF host in Monmouthshire

I need regular help on my 30-acre (12 ha.) farm and veg garden (as well as occasional wwoofers) and I also need someone to occupy the converted Stable that was till last autumn lived in by my mother.  I live on my own down here so really want daily contact with others living here, in case I break a leg out in the fields!  I would hope anyone agreeing to come here would want to spend 6 months here, or even longer depending on how it works out.

I offer:

My own experience of organic stock farming and veg growing here for 25 years – I have lots to teach about how you can apply your experience over time to a particular location.

The Stable is modernised and comfortable and has one double and one tiny bedroom.  There is bottle gas for the kitchen and a small wood-burner in the sitting room; otherwise it’s all-electric (with Ecotricity).  It has FreeSat tv reception, landline, 2mbps broadband speed, no mobile phone reception.  There is a small back garden with herbs, rhubarb, autumn raspberries.

We would share, freely, the produce of the veg garden and the hens, and firewood.  Meat if wanted – this year, lamb and pork – would be available to you cheaply.

I would expect:

Rental of £50 a week (it’s worth at least double that commercially – but I really want to have wwoofer-type people here), plus the electricity, gas, landline and tv licence.

Around 4 days’ work a week, by one or more people with some experience already of veg growing at least.

A deposit to cover occasional damage and to cover me in case of non-payment of utility bills.

You would definitely need your own transport as it’s very rural here.

I would expect this to interest couples with their eye on future land-owning.  One small child would be fine – no room indoors for more!  I have four cats and 34 sheep so any pets would have to fit in with them.

I really want to share the work, fun, produce, beauty and peace of my farm with sympathetic people.  I am lively-minded and sociable and would expect us to have a joint meal once a week or so, tea breaks together, and lots of entertainment with any wwoofers who turn up.

See also my WWOOF page and my blog: www.littlemillfarm.blogspot.com, and if you are seriously interested, do please read the background pages as well.  Then email me with info about yourselves: anneggleton@waitrose.com.